5 World’s Weirdest Theme Parks

Theme parks are a fun way to reveal your inner child and escape the daily hustle and bustle of everyday life. Booking.com, the global leader in connecting travellers with the widest choice of incredible places to stay, shares some weird and wonderful theme parks and attractions from around the world and, of course, the best places to stay.

1. Darwin, Australia
Experience a taste of the Australian outback by taking a trip to Crocosaurus Cove (www.crocosauruscove.com) to feed the crocodiles (or even swim with them!) as well as a trip to the reptile house. There’s even an aquarium and a “World of Crocs” which is full of crocodile wax works to enable visitors to learn more about the species.

Where to stay:
Darwin Waterfront Luxury Apartments (www.booking.com/hotel/au/darwin-waterfront-luxury-apartments.en-gb.html) are ideal for appreciating the scenery. All apartments are available with a private balcony and there is a restaurant onsite for convenient dining. The apartments are in walking distance to the beach and a short drive away from a casino, Water Park and museums with plenty of scenery to take in along the way.

2. Florida, USA
Take a trip to Weeki Wachee Springs (https://weekiwachee.com/) and meet a real life mermaid! This amazing park offers kayak rentals, paddling adventures, river boat cruises and mesmerising mermaids who swim in cool, crystal clear waters. Also featuring the Buccaneer Bay (https://weekiwachee.com/buccaneer-bay/), Florida’s only spring-fed waterpark, with a sandy white beach, swimming area and thrilling waterslides. Or take a trip to the educational Animal Show or the 400-seat submerged Mermaid Theatre.

Where to stay:
Offering an outdoor pool and fitness centre, the Microtel Inn & Suites (www.booking.com/hotel/us/microtel-inn-amp-suites-by-wyndham-spring-hill-47-weeki-wachee.en-gb.html) are located in Weeki Wachee, perfect for taking a trip to the Mermaid Park. Other nearby sites include Hernando Beach and the Weeki Wachee Springs.

3. Buenos Aires, Argentina
Take a trip to Tierra Santa (www.tierrasanta.com.ar) for a religious theme park in Buenos Aires with large reproductions of biblical scenes, including the amazing Noah’s Ark and the streets of Jerusalem. Plus make sure you look out for the 18 metres Jesus statue which rises from beneath the rocks every hour!

Where to stay:
Relax at the Villa San Gimignano (www.booking.com/hotel/ar/villa-san-gimignano.en-gb.html) and sip on the perfect coffee while sat in the garden or sun terrace. Chill by the pool during the day and sample the delicious food made by the hosts in the evening. The villa is a short drive away from popular landmarks including the Hippodrome and Colon Theatre.

4. Dusseldorf, Germany
Dusseldorf is home to Wunderland Kalkar (www.wunderlandkalkar.eu/en) – a theme park built on an abandoned nuclear plant, where even the cooling tower has been turned into a giant swing. This impressive theme park includes more than 40 rides and customers will be pleased to know that fries, ice cream and drinks are all included in the ticket price – so eat to your heart’s content!

Where to stay:
Dusseldorf has a place to stay for every budget, from bed and breakfasts, to grand castles. We recommend an incredible castle stay at Romantik Parkhotel Wasserburg Anholt (www.booking.com/hotel/de/parkhotel-wasserburg-anholt.en-gb.html) which is just a short drive away from Wunderland Kalkar as well as other landmarks such as Moyland Castle. Guests will also be able to enjoy the stunning views of the castle’s grounds while dining in the restaurant or on the terrace.

5. Abu Dhabi, UAE
Abu Dhabi offers the best of both worlds as it’s a great destination for both a city and beach break, and is full of things to do, including a visit to Ferrari World (https://ferrariworldabudhabi.com/). Ferrari World is not just for the car buff but is for all members of the family with rollercoasters, simulators and optical illusion shows bringing the Ferrari world to life.

Where to stay:
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi (www.booking.com/hotel/ae/the-yas.en-gb.html) is set half on land and half on water and is perfectly located for sightseeing in Abu Dhabi with a selection of attractions within walking distance – including the Formula 1 circuit which can be seen from your room. If you want to have a pool or activity day you can benefit from the wide range of treatments on offer at the spa as well as a beach club, golf course and two rooftop pools, with an incredible eleven restaurants and cafes serving international dishes.

Text and photos courtesy of Booking.com |Photo of Tierra Santa courtesy of www.tierrasanta.com.ar

Related articles:
1. 5 Dubai’s Dazzling New Openings in 2018
2. 5 Family Friendly Destinations
3. 5 Top Trending Travel Experiences for 2018
4. 5 Favourite Theme Parks for Families